DEVLOG #36 – Making The NPCs

Hello everybody! My codename is Varis­­­­­­­­cite, the new intern at the GameChanger Team. I’m here to help make the NPCs and animate the characters. To be honest I don’t actually know what to write here since this is my first blog post. But I’m going to try and hope that I don’t mess things up. Enough of the introduction, let’s go!

The other artists made such a beautiful environments that it would be a waste that there’s no people living there, right? Don’t you worry! Here comes my role. The NPCs can make the environment more lively. They can serve a variety of functions and reinforce a sense of immersion in the environment.

Screenshot

For example, the market. Market is an environment that allows buyers and sellers to trade or exchange goods, services, and information, a place where people go to buy or sell things and any type of trade takes place. So there will be lots of interaction and activity there. So, in this case I made some NPCs that will fit to the situation. Like a women with a shopping basket and there’s also a kid carrying a paper bag full of things.

npc 3
And there you have it! Villagers that lives in the city. But wait it’s not moving? Is that supposed to be a human or is that a cardboard cutout? That’s where the animation takes place. Let’s start breathing some life into the Characters. After making the NPCs, I break down the body parts (body, head, eyes, and etc.), combine it again in a program that I use to animate, add the bone, and I’m all ready to animate. Most of the characters have 3 animation, which is Idle, Walk, and Talk.

I guess it’s enough for me today, there’s more but that would spoil all the fun! But anyway thanks for reading. Be sure to stay tuned for more interesting stories!

~ Veriscite

Leave a Reply

